Evolving Stories & Current Distractions

It is nothing new to a writer when a story has to be written over at one time or another. Whether it’s the plot that needs changing, or characters that need cutting out, or changing the subject matter completely just because you’re bored with it. I’ve done this at least four to five times with one project, and then for the first time with a newer one.

At times you just need an infusion of something new when your previous fascination now dulls your senses. There is no need for feeling guilt over a change. If the work is yours, you should feel free to do as you damn well please with it.

I’ve also found that pre-planning a story from start to finish never worked for me. I’ve only worked a few chapter outlines at a time, and let things develop from there. I sometimes have a vague idea of where I’d like the story to go, and how it might end, but I don’t like to visualize it until I’ve worked my way there.

The funny thing is that a story can take on a life of its own, and instead of you being in charge, you are being lead by a muse, or something like it. I get bored less doing it this way.
In every little thing I read, or see, I may pick up new ideas to weave into the work I’m doing. It seems to me that an amalgum of concepts worked together in the right way can avoid the pitfall of a more formulaic premise. Though, there are writers who’ve managed to create fine works doing so. It’s just a little harder to do these days.

In other news…

I’ve been reading some of Greg Egan’s books. I really liked “Distress”. I just finished “Diaspora”, and “Crystal Nights & Other Sories”. I’m now reading “Schild’s Ladder”. I’ll admit right here and now that some of the physics bits go over my head. It’s definitely interesting nonetheless.

My other current distraction from reality is HBO’s Game of Thrones series. I have watched all of season one, and season two is nearly complete. It’s the most addictive story/series I’ve seen in a very long time. I’m not usually into too much fantasy, but this is so damn well written that it keeps me on the edge of my seat. I already have a few favorite characters, and the series goes a step further by having dragons and giant wolves involved.
I LOVE dragons, and giant wolves are also very awesome. I’d have one of each if they existed.
I may now have to read the books by George R. R. Martin, and I hear that they are quite thick volumes.

In real time…

I am trying to get more exposure for my art website. I’m trying to get more traffic there, and possibly more work using my skills. If you know anyone who loves wildlife art, please tell them to check out my website here:

http://vivid-dreams.jimdo.com

Feel free to pass the link around, and leave a guestbook entry if you really enjoy it!
Also, to avoid confusion, “Lynn DeRiso” is my writing pen-name, while “Angela DeRiso” is my artist name. I’m the same person. I do wonder whether I should just stick to one or the other though, and I do prefer my middle name “Lynn”.

Any thoughts on that?

One thought on “Evolving Stories & Current Distractions

Leave a Reply

